AP Calculus

WELCOME TO AP CALCULUS!
Unit 5 - Analytical Applications of Derivatives

Thur, Jan 30 - Unit Test
Wed Jan 29 - PPC Free Response due at start of class - NO LATE WORK ACCEPTED!
Tue Jan 28 - PPC Multiple Choice in class
Tue Jan 28 - Unit 5 Homework (no late work accepted) - p.242-43: 4, 8, 26, 40, 72; p.253-54 - 14, 44, 66; p. 262-64: 8, 16, 18, 34; p. 274: 4, 10, 18, 24, 34
Mon Jan 27 - Quiz
Fri Jan 24 - Behavior of Implicit Functions  notes  key
Thur Jan 23 - Optimization Circuits (get copy in class)
Wed Jan 22 - Intro to Optimization notes key
Practice: Khan Academy
Tue Jan 21 - Quiz on second derivatives, graphs, and functions
Wed Jan 15 - Connecting functions to their first & second derivatives
Notes - definitions linking derivatives
Practice - Textbook - p. 276-77 1-5 & 7-8
Practice: Khan Academy
Tue Jan 14 - Second Derivative Test & Extrema (Khan Academy)
Mon Jan 13 - Concavity & Second Derivatives (Khan Academy Lesson graphical and algebraic)
Thur Jan. 9 - Quiz 1
HW due: p. 217 #12, 20, 26; p. 225 - #34, 38, 42; p. 233 - #2, 6, 10, 26
Wed Jan 8 - Absolute Extrema (notes)
Practice: Khan Academy - Candidates Test & Absolute Extrema
Tue Jan 7 - First Derivative Test and Points of Interest (notes)
Practice: Textbook p. 233 - 1-37 ev. 4th problem
Practice: Khan Academy - 1st Derivative Test & Local Extrema
Mon Jan 6 - Mean Value Theorem and Extreme Value Theorem (notes) 
Practice:  Textbook p. 224-225 - 9, 13, 17, 21, 31, 35, 37, 39 (MVT); p.217 - 1-11 odd, 21, 23
Practice:  Khan Academy - MVT and EVT
Completed Notes:  MVT EVT    1st Derivative Test   


1st Semester Exam - Test Prep

Exam Topic & Format Outline 

DERIVATIVES IN CONTEXT UNIT - Test Prep

Unit 4 Personal Progress Check Free Response (now offline - see Mr. Honea if you need a copy)
Practice:  L'Hopital's Rule for Limits of Indeterminate Forms- Khan Academy links 
L'Hopital's Rule:  Notes with answers
Practice:  Linear Approximations to Estimate Values using Derivatives - Khan Academy links 
Linear Approximation:  Notes with answers
Practice: Related Rates (scroll down to practice Intro to Related Rates, Solving Related Rates Problems, and Quiz 2.) Related Rates Review Problems - Solutions Related Rates Day 2 (Cone Problem) - Notes with answers Related Rates Day 1 (Balloon Problem) - Notes with answers Practice: Position-Velocity-Acceleration on Khan Academy Position-Velocity-Acceleration Review Problems




DERIVATIVE UNIT - Test Prep

 Practice: Differentiating inverse trig functions (scroll down to practice Inverse Functions, Inverse Trig Functions, and Quiz 2).

LINK TO KHAN ACADEMY - CHAIN RULE & IMPLICIT DIFFERENTIATION PRACTICE


 Unit 1 Personal Progress Checkpoint
- Multiple choice parts A & B - due by midnight Sep. 22 - log in to your College Board account to do these online (be sure to allow time to finish the section before you start)
- Free Response Questions - please limit yourself to 20 minutes per question - these will be scored in class.
Unit 1 Test 2 - Thur, Sep 19

 Unit P Test - Wed., Aug 28
List of Test Question Topics

Mon, Aug 26 - Log review - practice p.52 - #77-102
Sign up for AP Classroom - Use class code K667QK


AP Summer work - There will be help sessions during the week before school starts:
  • Monday, Aug 12 - 3:00-4:15pm
  • Wednesday, Aug 14 - 1:30-3:00pm

The help sessions will be in Room 116.